Search

Support Forum

SANE Support Forum

Covid vaccination

For sharing your experiences and feelings about mental illness
matsalleh

Covid vaccination

Postby matsalleh » Wed Feb 03, 2021 9:33 pm

I work as a teaching assistant in a special needs school. The local nhs trust is vaccinating school staff and my headteacher has arranged for us to be a part of that. I should be happy about it. My family are happy. My work colleagues are happy and have all signed up. I signed up because I know I should. But I'm not overjoyed. I'm... I don't really know. Maybe disappointed?

I've been wishing for a way out of life for the last 4 years. I've had a couple of friends pass away and I've been envious. They don't have to worry about stuff anymore. They don't have to watch the world go down the toilet anymore. But I'm not in a bad enough place to seek out an end. I just want it to end. Something to end it for me. Covid seemed like it might work. I'm close to being vulnerable but not in a way that gets public notice or sympathy. I'm almost 50 and I'm very overweight. I have a fairly low paid, low skilled job.

Since March 2020 I've been elevated to the dizzying heights of key worker status so kids can stay at school. But not the kind of key worker status that anyone really cares about. I'm just a TA. The government couldn't care less about me.

Anyway, I've been secretly hoping that I would catch covid and then not recover. I haven't gone out of my way to catch it. I've been following the rules. I have co-workers and neighbours who have followed the rules and they've caught it. I haven't. And tomorrow I'm being vaccinated and I guess that small hope that my life will end soon will be gone.

I know that this is all wrong and I expect it will make people very angry to read this. I am sorry. If I could give my vaccination to someone more deserving I would.