Search

Support Forum

SANE Support Forum

Support groups for spouses??

If you're concerned about, or care for, someone with mental illness
eternalsunshine01

Support groups for spouses??

Postby eternalsunshine01 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:08 am

Hi all, this is my first time posting. I am exhausted emotionally, my husband has had quite a severe breakdown and I’m struggling to cope now with my own anxieties. He is receiving help - he has had the crisis team involved and is due to see a psychiatrist. I have had an appointment with my own gp who says my reactions, anxieties and paranoia are all natural given what I’ve seen and how I’ve physically had to stop him from killing himself.
He gets angry with me quite frequently which I find makes me feel very panicked. He blames me for his current situation.

I would really just like to be able to talk to others in similar situations. I don’t know if carer groups exist or what. We’re in our mid 30s and I never expected to be going through any of this. Does anyone know if there are face to face groups (I’m based in the Midlands) or do most of you in this situation seek support via these forums?

Thank you

popping-candy

Re: Support groups for spouses??

Postby popping-candy » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:16 pm

Hey welcome to the forum. So I discovered this site after researching a lot to find a bit of support for partners. I did not find a whole load unfortunately even though it's obvious there is a real need. The mental health facility my partner was under during his worst breakdown offered some support for carers - which often unknowingly (or it was for me) that's what we become.

I think it possibly depends on what you want to get out of the support. But maybe start with asking your gp.