Search

Support Forum

SANE Support Forum

Didn't know where to post but I'm a newbie carer

If you're concerned about, or care for, someone with mental illness
nobodyreally

Didn't know where to post but I'm a newbie carer

Postby nobodyreally » Wed Jan 03, 2018 4:01 pm

Hi, I typically don't do social media and forums but I've been struggling a lot lately under the pressure of caring.
I have a husband and children on the autistic spectrum only my husband has borderline personality disorder (has has problems for 25+yrs severe for 9yrs and finally diagnosed a few days ago) and a son who i think has the same.
Christmas is always a stressful time for me as our older kids come home and they have their own challenges and i do everything in our home, and we have younger children who deserve to have a wonderful christmas. So this year after a trying and stressful year i buckled and blew it. I never have time off, even when I try to escape into a book or a hobby i cant. I have a never ending list of responsibilities and demands.
So I called everyone down to the living room in a bid to ask for the older kids to shoulder some of the household duties and to get them all to spend some time together but it went very badly wrong i was told i had impossible expectations, I created an opressive atmosphere, I was demanding and controlling.
As I said I do everything not because I choose to but because they don't do anything. I ask them to wash up and they refuse, I am constantly washing and cleaning as when I ask they refuse. If I demand they refuse and it cause arguments that I don't want around our youngest children. They go running to my in-laws if I say anything and my eldest is viewed as a golden child. I know all this sounds ridiculous to others but it's not just this it's the constant emotional trauma they cause me.