Search

Support Forum

SANE Support Forum

Desperate to smile

If it makes you smile...
emmarolo1983

Desperate to smile

Postby emmarolo1983 » Fri Aug 12, 2016 4:03 pm

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to this but I need somewhere to turn. I was on fluoxetine for 3 years to treat my anxiety and depression and it worked wonders. Stupidly 2 months ago I just stopped taking it, and now my whole world has come crashing down. I have been back on the tablets for 10 days but they haven't worked so far. I'm so petrified they won't work again and I will have to live like this. Can someone reassure me?

deb1960

Re: Desperate to smile

Postby deb1960 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:29 pm

Hi, you won't be like this forever. Your tablets will almost certainly work, but waiting for that is scary. It can take a number of weeks for them to take effect.
Deb

mezzaninedoor

Postby mezzaninedoor » Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:14 pm

It takes time for medication to work, Im always concerned when my medications are tweaked that there will be missteps but Meds do settle in after time and take effect.

sandym-iam

Postby sandym-iam » Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:34 pm

I know how you feel, I did exactly the same thing yesterday. I walked out the door on my way to work and half way on route, I realised I forgot to take my meds. I didn't go back home to take them and I felt absolutely terrible. But you will get there in time and the meds will work for you again.

kat32

Postby kat32 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:15 pm

Have you thought about watching a DVD, film you like. It helps me. Sometimes going for a trip to the local shop helps.

mcnelis34

Postby mcnelis34 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:04 am

Newbie asking for advice. I have never turned to medication due to being stubborn. Do they help. As i am sure i need something. What i am doing isnt working. I find when i am working i am happy. As soon as 4 o'clock comes i start feeling anxious. Can anyone relate to it?

rsxo

Postby rsxo » Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:51 pm